1/1

the WATER MEM branch technique (MBR technique)

As our company name already suggests, the focus of our company is on membrane processes, such as those used in membrane bioreactors (MBR) as an alternative process to conventional wastewater treatment technology.

The classical process concept consists of aeration basins and secondary sedimentation, in which activated sludge is separated from the treated wastewater by sedimentation and returned to the aeration basin. Due to the sedimentation behavior of the activated sludge, the dry matter content in conventional plants is limited and the activated sludge can only be incompletely separated, so pathogenic agents such as viruses, bacteria and parasites end up in the effluent and thus in surface waters.

In contrast to conventional wastewater plants, membrane activated sludge plants combine the aeration tank with membrane filtration to separate water and activated sludge. In this process, secondary sedimentation is substituted by membrane filtration. The concentration of biomass in the activated sludge is no longer dependent on the sedimentation behavior in the secondary clarification, and can thus be increased considerably compared to conventional process technology, so that high solids contents can be achieved in the activated sludge tank.

 

The ultrafiltration membranes used retain 99.99% of solids and pathogenic germs thanks to a pore size of just 0.03μm!

 

By eliminating the secondary clarifier and increasing the dry solids content, space can be saved and the plants can be built much more compactly with significantly better effluent quality. The hygienization required in conventional processes by means of chemicals or UV radiation is not necessary with MBR technology.

 

Membrane process technology additionally represents an insurmountable barrier against microplastics! Unfortunately, microplastics are increasingly polluting our rivers and oceans. Microplastic is a component of many everyday products. It gets into wastewater treatment plants via our wastewater. If the wastewater treatment plants do not have downstream membrane filtration, microplastics are discharged 1 to 1 into the environment together with the treated wastewater, where they are e.g. absorbed by fish.

1/1

die WATER MEM brantechnik (MBR-Technik)

Wie es unser Firmenname bereits vermuten lässt, liegt der Fokus unseres Unternehmens auf Membranverfahren, wie sie z.B. bei Membranbelebungsanlagen (MBR) als alternatives Verfahren zur konventionellen Abwasserreinigungstechnik zum Einsatz kommt.

Das klassische Verfahrenskonzept besteht aus Belebungsbecken und der Nachklärung, in der belebte Schlamm durch Sedimentation vom gereinigten Abwasser abgetrennt und in das Belebungsbecken zurückgeführt wird. Aufgrund des Sedimentationsverhaltens des belebten Schlamms ist der Trockensubstanzgehalt in konventionellen Anlagen begrenzt und der belebte Schlamm kann nur unvollständig abgetrennt werden, so dass pathogene Krankheitserreger wie Viren, Bakterien und Parasiten in den Ablauf und somit in die Oberflächengewässer geraten.

Im Unterschied zu konventionellen Abwasseranlagen wird bei Membranbelebungsanlagen das Belebungsbecken mit einer Membranfiltration zur Trennung von Wasser und belebten Schlamm kombiniert. Dabei wird die Nachklärung durch eine Membranfiltration substituiert. Die Konzentration der Biomasse in der Belebung ist nicht mehr von dem Sedimentationsverhalten in der Nachklärung abhängig, und kann damit gegenüber konventioneller Verfahrenstechnik erheblich gesteigert werden, so dass hohe Feststoffgehalte im Belebungsbecken erzielbar sind.

 

Die eingesetzten Ultrafiltrationsmembrane halten, dank einer Porengröße von lediglich 0,03μm, Feststoffe und pathogene Keime zu 99,99% zurück!

 

Durch den Wegfall der Nachklärbecken als auch durch die Steigerung des TS-Gehaltes können Platzeinsparungen realisiert und die Anlagen bei deutlich besserer Ablaufqualität erheblich kompakter gebaut werden. Die bei konventionellen Verfahren notwendige Hygienisierung mittels Chemikalien oder UV-Strahlung entfällt bei der MBR-Technik.

 

Membranverfahrenstechnik stellt zusätzlich eine unüberwindbare Barriere gegen Mikroplastik dar! Mikroplastik belastet leider immer stärker unsere Flüsse & Meere. Mikroplastik ist Bestandteil vieler Produkte des täglichen Bedarfs. Es gelangt über unser Abwasser in Kläranlagen. Verfügen die Kläranlagen über keine nachgeschaltete Membranfiltration, wird Mikroplastik, zusammen mit dem gereinigten Abwasser, 1 zu 1 in die Umwelt abgeleitet, wo es z.B. von Fischen aufgenommen wird. 

© 2020 Water Mem GmbH. All Rights Reserved.